Why use RSS?

RSS chairRSS (Really Simple Syndication) is a great way to see the news and information that you want to see from the web.

Instead of going and finding new content from your favourite websites, RSS allows that information to come to you! Awesome.

To subscribe to an RSS feed, there is usually a button on a webpage that looks like this RSS icon

If you click on this button, it will usually take you to a page that gives you options on how to subscribe. An easy way to view subscriptions is to use google reader. Which will let you use your google account to view RSS feeds.

You can then simply click on the button to subscribe to the feed, and if there is no button, you can copy the URL and paste it into the “add a subscription” box.

This is a really simple process, and it will allow all of your favourite news and information to come to you!

Why not subscribe to this blog now…

davemiers.com also has a great explaination of RSS.

If all of this is too confusing, maybe you’ll find these videos below to be a good explanation of RSS and google reader.

Read more at calumhenderson.wordpress.com

16 Responses to “Why use RSS?”


  1. 1 charissec June 13, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I think I set up my blog for this but I am not certain as I fairly technically challenged on the computer. Will you check out my blog and let me know. Thank you for your help on this RSS business.
    Charisse

    http://cmcdesignstudio.wordpress.com/

    cmcdesignstudio@cox.net

  2. 4 digitalvixon June 13, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I wrote a quite similar article back in January. You would think this would be known by now. ;-)

    “Damn It, Son. Cant Ya READ??”

    http://digitalvixon.wordpress.com/2009/01/19/do-you-know-how-to-read/

  3. 5 rikkitick June 13, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the information. I’m a new blogger from another generation and your simple presentation helped a lot. Read your testimony too. You sound like a Barnabas to me. God Bless!

  4. 6 nathandyer June 13, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I understand what you’re saying about how most people don’t understand RSS, but I find that it’s more of a hassle to use than actually going to the sites and blogs manually. I like knowing when something is updated, but I enjoy seeing the content in full glory, and I start to feel… strangled when the unread posts number continues to grow. It’s a great idea, but I find it isn’t all it could be at this point. Call me crazy, but instead of everything coming to me I like to go to it.

    Great post, however.

  5. 7 RSS2MYSQL June 14, 2009 at 3:54 am

    rss syndication can be used for seo purposes to ramp up keyword content. may want to randomize the rss to make original content thumbprints though.

  6. 8 Calum Henderson June 14, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    @digital vixon Glad to see RSS is finally getting out there!

    @rikkitick Pleasure to help, would like to see your blog sometime

    @nathandyer I think that the sites still are the main information setting. One of my mates compared it to a full novel and readers digest excerpt. But, if your trying to find new content from 30-40 sites, then RSS allows you to see what is new in a flash, and then view the sites that you like. So instead of visiting 40 sites daily, you can just visit the ones that get updated.
    Thanks for reading!

    @RSS2MYSQL Thanks for the thoughts

  7. 9 8 ball pool online games free July 25, 2013 at 8:26 am

    Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  8. 10 Francesco August 22, 2013 at 6:12 am

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will be
    a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and may come back someday.

    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  9. 11 Brady August 26, 2013 at 7:55 am

    Hello, this weekend is fastidious in favor of me, as this occasion i am reading this enormous informative paragraph here at my house.


  1. 1 4 Reasons to Blog « Calum Henderson Trackback on June 14, 2009 at 12:59 pm
  2. 2 Public vs Private #2 | Scripture « Calum Henderson Trackback on June 23, 2009 at 11:33 am
  3. 3 Delicious « Calum Henderson Trackback on July 25, 2009 at 1:48 pm
  4. 4 Happy New Year! « Calum Henderson Trackback on January 1, 2010 at 10:12 am
  5. 5 Delicious | Calum Henderson Trackback on January 28, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Read this!

This blog is no longer active

View my NEW blog at calumhenderson.com

If you have been redirected from my new blog to here, simply delete {wordpress.} from the URL and you will be taken to the same page on my new blog. Thanks!

About me

A Christian guy in his early 20s studying to be a primary school teacher

Contact

calumhendersonblog@gmail.com

Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

I've been reading...

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

