Reflection in Ministry

ReflectionRecently I wrote an essay on metacognition and expertise. One of the major points that came out of research for this essay is how important reflective practices are in learning, and how much more effective we can learn if we build on what we already know.

This got me thinking about various ministries that I am involved in, and how much I need to reflect on what happens each week in order to serve God better. I think it is something that does happen a lot in many churches (and other groups), but I still think that it is something that needs to happen more, asking questions like…

  • How can we change what we did to make it better?
  • Was there anything that worked really well?
  • Was there anything that didn’t work?

So in my ministries, reflection is going to play a continuing role in me growing as a leader. So that I can understand groups, and how to serve God through teaching them (or interacting with them). I pray that others will continue to reflect on their ministries.

3 Responses to “Reflection in Ministry”


  1. 1 Nathan May 19, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    I’m definitely with you on this one Callum, reflection is such an important discipline! I’d add to the (excellent) questions you’ve already got, “Why did/didn’t it work so well?” This way, a person’s reflection might progress as follows:
    1. What didn’t work so well?
    2. Why didn’t it work so well?
    3. What could we change to make it better?
    The “why” question is often the hardest to answer, but I daresay, the most critical to “successful” reflection. Keep these great posts coming!

  2. 2 Calum Henderson May 20, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Thanks for the comments Nath.
    I think the questions you proposed are vital, especially as you said the why. Understanding the why is what makes us able to improve what we do.
    Thanks again!


  1. 1 Replay – Ancon09 #1 « Calum Henderson Trackback on July 6, 2009 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

Read this!

This blog is no longer active

View my NEW blog at calumhenderson.com

If you have been redirected from my new blog to here, simply delete {wordpress.} from the URL and you will be taken to the same page on my new blog. Thanks!

About me

A Christian guy in his early 20s studying to be a primary school teacher

Contact

calumhendersonblog@gmail.com

Twitter updates

  • @marcoarment I want to say a genuine thank you. I use Overcast daily to listen to podcasts and love ATP. Thanks for your work. 1 year ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, once again I have been locked out of my mail accounts. Could you please see DM for details? 2 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, I was told I'd be contacted within 24hrs regarding an issue and it has been 2 days. Please see my DM 2 years ago
  • @bluehostsupport I normally use Mail on my Mac but have checked Webmail and I haven't received email on either since September 10 2 years ago
  • @bluehost My accounts are not receiving email. After live chat couldn't help I opened a ticket on September 22. It has not been answered. 2 years ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

I've been reading...

Archives


