4 benefits of 3rd party Twitter applications

Twitter bird 4This is the last post about Twitter for a while after “5 reasons to Tweet” and “How to use Twitter“.

One of Twitter’s great advantages is that it can be used in many different forms. Yes, you can Tweet from the Twitter website. But, there are also tools that allow you to Tweet from many other areas. These take the form of both Desktop clients and mobile clients. You can read about some of them here and here.

These other methods of sharing and receiving content are one area where Twitter really stands out from Facebook. Here are 4 ways that 3rd party clients can benefit you.

1. Manage multiple accounts

Twitter can be used for many different purposes, you may be managing (or want to manage) your account as well as maybe a church account. Instead of logging onto the website numerous times, 3rd party clients allow you to quickly Tweet multiple accounts. Simple.

2. Receive Tweets as they come

This could be seen as anti-productive, but being able to stay up to date with those that you follow could be ideal, depending on your context. Having a desktop client running in the background allows you to receive Tweets as they come.

3. Tweet on the go

There are Twitter applications for a lot of phones out there, most notably the iPhone. People expect updates regularly on Twitter (which isn’t always the case on Facebook) and by using mobile 3rd party clients you can.

4. Pretty up your Tweets

This ones less important than the others, but 3rd party clients tend to look better than the Twitter website, you may miss customised backgrounds, but you can get your Tweets in a slick looking interface.

Hope you enjoyed these insights into Twitter. If you are curious, I use Tweetie as a desktop client and I use Twitterific on my iPhone. Why not follow my Tweets @calumhenderson.

Read more at calumhenderson.wordpress.com

0 Responses to “4 benefits of 3rd party Twitter applications”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Read this!

This blog is no longer active

View my NEW blog at calumhenderson.com

If you have been redirected from my new blog to here, simply delete {wordpress.} from the URL and you will be taken to the same page on my new blog. Thanks!

About me

A Christian guy in his early 20s studying to be a primary school teacher

Contact

calumhendersonblog@gmail.com

Twitter updates

  • @marcoarment I want to say a genuine thank you. I use Overcast daily to listen to podcasts and love ATP. Thanks for your work. 1 year ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, once again I have been locked out of my mail accounts. Could you please see DM for details? 2 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, I was told I'd be contacted within 24hrs regarding an issue and it has been 2 days. Please see my DM 2 years ago
  • @bluehostsupport I normally use Mail on my Mac but have checked Webmail and I haven't received email on either since September 10 2 years ago
  • @bluehost My accounts are not receiving email. After live chat couldn't help I opened a ticket on September 22. It has not been answered. 2 years ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

I've been reading...

Archives


