From the Bible this week: James

Recently in my quiet times I have been reading James. James is such an awesomely practical book with some great teaching. I thought that I would share one thing that I was reminded of lately.

In chapter 2, James talks about a weird concept

“faith without deeds is dead”

James 2:26b

I remember when I first heard this in Yr 11, I had a mini freak out. My whole life I had been taught that I am saved by grace and not by anything that I had done (Ephesians 2), but here is the Bible saying that deeds are nessessary.

Thankfully I now understand this concept a lot better. We are only saved through grace alone by faith, but our faith is shown through our deeds. James says

“You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”

James 2:19

Believing is not enough, our faith is shown through what we do and how we live.

Wind

A useful analogy that I have found is the wind. The is there, but we only known it is there through what we see it do. We cant see the wind, we can only see the effects of the wind, we can see leaves moving and trees swaying, but we cannot see the wind.

It is the same with faith, we can only show our faith through what we do. And how we live represents our faith. Anyone who has true faith in Christ will be living a life that aims to please God.

Read more at calumhenderson.wordpress.com

0 Responses to “From the Bible this week: James”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Read this!

This blog is no longer active

View my NEW blog at calumhenderson.com

If you have been redirected from my new blog to here, simply delete {wordpress.} from the URL and you will be taken to the same page on my new blog. Thanks!

About me

A Christian guy in his early 20s studying to be a primary school teacher

Contact

calumhendersonblog@gmail.com

Twitter updates

  • @marcoarment I want to say a genuine thank you. I use Overcast daily to listen to podcasts and love ATP. Thanks for your work. 2 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, once again I have been locked out of my mail accounts. Could you please see DM for details? 3 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, I was told I'd be contacted within 24hrs regarding an issue and it has been 2 days. Please see my DM 3 years ago
  • @bluehostsupport I normally use Mail on my Mac but have checked Webmail and I haven't received email on either since September 10 3 years ago
  • @bluehost My accounts are not receiving email. After live chat couldn't help I opened a ticket on September 22. It has not been answered. 3 years ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

I've been reading...

Archives


