Public vs Private #3 | Support

Red FlowerTeaching is hard. Being a Christian is hard.

Therefore, being a Christian teacher is very hard.

At a public school, a Christian teacher is likely to be in the minority, with very few other Christian teachers if any at all.

There will be older teachers who will be able to support your teaching, they may even mentor you and give you excellent advice, but whatever they tell you, it will not be directly influencing your walk with God.

However, at a private school, there are likely to be many other Christian teachers, many of whom will have been teaching for a long period of time.

These Christian teachers will be able to support you not only in teaching, but in being a Christian teacher. This support would be very useful in the early years of teaching especially, as the teacher tries to understand how to best serve God in their field. The fact that the teachers can work together in glorifying God means that they can share experiences of discussions with students or parents, and also particular struggles that they may have.

Of course if every Christian teacher went to a private school, then there wouldn’t be a single Christian teacher in a public school. But it is something to consider in this debate. If you have an opinion on this, let me know in the comments.

Read more at calumhenderson.wordpress.com

8 Responses to “Public vs Private #3 | Support”


  1. 1 tomjuddfilm June 28, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Calum, I’m trying to figure out what your point is? I’m not saying this in a harsh way, I’m genuinely trying to work out who is involved in this so-called debate and who your comments are directed to?

    There will always be options for teachers… and often it comes down to what school works best for that particular teacher. Does it pay well? Is it close? etc.

    You should talk to Amanda about this topic, because she told our church during an interview that she finds it harder evangelising teachers at a Christian school, because they’ve become so accustomed to what Christianity is about, that it essentially rolls off their back. They do so respectively, but still, little progress is made.

    If you’re trying to decide between private vs. public, I’d suggest you go to the school you feel you’d succeed in making a difference… doesn’t necessarily have to be a mission to convert all your students and teachers. If you show respect to your students, demonstrate your Christianity through actions… you’ll probably find that it makes greater progress in evangelising.

  2. 2 Calum Henderson June 28, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Fair point Tom,

    I am mainly doing this for myself and any other Christian teachers that are trying to decide where to teach. Not so as to decide the ultimate best alternative, but too make sure that I (we) consider all of the reasons to teach in either school, so that I (we) can make informed and wise decisions when it comes time to teach. Mainly so that I don’t just take an easy option.

    Hope that helps out. If not, I’d be happy to talk to you sometime about it.

    Cheers for being involved in the discussion!

  3. 3 tomjuddfilm June 29, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Totally, gotcha.

    I guess it might be just as easy to over-worry about things that don’t matter as much, at least in the whole scheme of living life as a Christian.

    You might find that a Christian working as a builder, or as a lawyer, or as a cop (etc), would possibly face more difficulties than a teacher?

    Although your point is more support from fellow Christians? I guess if you’re pursuing an environment like that, then that is totally up to you! But, I’d ask why you feel you need this support in the workplace?

    Jesus dined with the ‘sick’ not the ‘healthy’ – perhaps you can help others in your early years of teaching, more than you think?

  4. 4 Calum Henderson July 4, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I’m definitely not saying that you “need” Christian support in the workplace, but I’m sure that everyone would agree that Christian support is helpful, for anyone in any profession. I am also not saying that teaching is harder than any other profession, just making a journey from the point of view of a preservice teacher.

    I’m am certain that where ever a Christian teacher does teach, that God will use them for his glory.

    Thanks again for your thoughts Tom

  5. 5 Liz August 6, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Don’t expect that all teachers in church schools are Christians. In the Christian Community Schools- yes, but in the church schools, even those that are ‘very Christian’ church schools, probably not.
    It is very hard to teach with ‘Christians’ who are openly and unrepentantly living a sinful life.

  6. 6 Calum Henderson August 6, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    You’ve preempted my next post!

    It is good to remember that not everyone is a Christian at Church schools, and I think being able to evangelise to teachers could definitely be a good thing.

    I could imagine it being very hard to teach with “‘Christians’ who are openly and unrepentantly living a sinful life.”

    Thanks again for your comments! I appreciate the thoughts of someone with much more experience than I.


  1. 1 Public vs Private #4 | Sport « Calum Henderson Trackback on July 20, 2009 at 10:28 am
  2. 2 Public vs Private #8 | Parents Who Care Too Much « Calum Henderson Trackback on December 23, 2009 at 10:12 am

Leave a Reply

Read this!

This blog is no longer active

View my NEW blog at calumhenderson.com

If you have been redirected from my new blog to here, simply delete {wordpress.} from the URL and you will be taken to the same page on my new blog. Thanks!

About me

A Christian guy in his early 20s studying to be a primary school teacher

Contact

calumhendersonblog@gmail.com

Twitter updates

  • @marcoarment I want to say a genuine thank you. I use Overcast daily to listen to podcasts and love ATP. Thanks for your work. 2 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, once again I have been locked out of my mail accounts. Could you please see DM for details? 3 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, I was told I'd be contacted within 24hrs regarding an issue and it has been 2 days. Please see my DM 3 years ago
  • @bluehostsupport I normally use Mail on my Mac but have checked Webmail and I haven't received email on either since September 10 3 years ago
  • @bluehost My accounts are not receiving email. After live chat couldn't help I opened a ticket on September 22. It has not been answered. 3 years ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

I've been reading...

Archives


