Public vs Private #8 | Parents Who Care Too Much

The demographics of students and parents that attend public and private schools tend to be pretty stereotypical. As in certain types of parents send their children to private schools, and certain parents send their students to public schools. Although, sometimes schools can break these stereotypes (ok, a lot of the time).

So, instead of talking about private and public schools in this post (and the next few), I’m going to be talking about two ends of the parent spectrum. Those who care too much about their child’s education, and those who don’t care enough. Of course most parents will fall somewhere between these two, but will probably lean either way. So here are some characteristics of parents that care too much.

Parents who care too much

  • There will likely be a lot of pressure on the child to perform
  • Students may often be forced to go to tutoring (I onced tutored a Kindy girl in maths, she was doing year 2 maths at the time…)
  • The parents will put stress onto the teacher, and ask questions about why their child isn’t getting straight A’s
  • Although because of this, the teachers are accountable and teaching remains excellent
  • Students may be forced to do tests for selective schools when they have no chance of getting in, and therefore are under unnecessary stress
  • Parents will support the teacher in learning, and students will value learning as their parents do

Most private schools have parents that exhibit above symptoms. This can be both harmful and helpful. And some parents may only be helpful, or may only be harmful. But in deciding where to teach consider the parents that you will be partnering with in educating their children.

Stay tuned for Parents who don’t care enough.

Read more in this series

Read more at calumhenderson.wordpress.com

0 Responses to “Public vs Private #8 | Parents Who Care Too Much”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Read this!

This blog is no longer active

View my NEW blog at calumhenderson.com

If you have been redirected from my new blog to here, simply delete {wordpress.} from the URL and you will be taken to the same page on my new blog. Thanks!

About me

A Christian guy in his early 20s studying to be a primary school teacher

Contact

calumhendersonblog@gmail.com

Twitter updates

  • @marcoarment I want to say a genuine thank you. I use Overcast daily to listen to podcasts and love ATP. Thanks for your work. 1 year ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, once again I have been locked out of my mail accounts. Could you please see DM for details? 2 years ago
  • @bluehost @bluehostsupport Hi there, I was told I'd be contacted within 24hrs regarding an issue and it has been 2 days. Please see my DM 2 years ago
  • @bluehostsupport I normally use Mail on my Mac but have checked Webmail and I haven't received email on either since September 10 2 years ago
  • @bluehost My accounts are not receiving email. After live chat couldn't help I opened a ticket on September 22. It has not been answered. 2 years ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

I've been reading...

Archives


